A Teens Guide to the 5 Love Languages – Review

Have you heard of the 5 Love Languages? I have found that learning and applying the 5 Love Languages to all my significant relationships has greatly improved each one. It has also helped me to better understand myself.

A Teen's Guide to the 5 Love Languages - A Review from Starts At Eight

Using the principles behind the 5 Love Languages enriches relationships. Do you know how it would be even more effective? It would be even more effective if both parties involved were versed in it! For this very reason I love that there are a variety of 5 Love Language books.

Here are just a few of them:

If you are not familiar with the 5 Love Languages let me give you a quick overview. Here is what the author, Gary Chapman, says about The 5 Love Languages:

My conclusion after thirty years of marriage counseling is that there are basically five emotional love languages—five ways that people speak and understand emotional love. In the field of linguistics a language may have numerous dialects or variations. Similarly, within the five basic emotional love languages, there are many dialects….The important thing is to speak the love language of your spouse.

Here’s a brief description of what each of them mean:

  1. Words of Affirmation: Expressing affection through spoken affection, praise, or appreciation.
  2. Acts of Service: Actions, rather than words, are used to show and receive love.
  3. Receiving Gifts: Gifting is symbolic of love and affection.
  4. Quality Time: Expressing affection with undivided, undistracted attention.
  5. Physical Touch: It can be sex or holding hands. With this love language, the speaker feels affection through physical touch.

A Teen’s Guide to the 5 Love Languages

A Teen’s Guide to the 5 Love Languages is geared towards helping our teens understand themselves as well as their relationships with others. {I recently received this book for review. Please see my full Disclosure Policy for more details.}

How is this different than other 5 Love Languages books?

  1. Speaks to teens on their level.
  2. Uses examples they can relate to.
  3. Includes graphics that are fun and relevant for teens.
  4. Gives solid, concrete examples of what each language looks like, from both sides!


Other Articles of Interest:

Curriculum Review: Discovering the 5 Love Languages At School from Starts At EightGrowing Up Social - Kids & Screen Time from Starts At Eight